Australia Day

Home » Australia Day

FAMDA staged Jonathan Biggins’ wickedly funny
  ‘AUSTRALIA DAY’ directed by Andrew Oldroyd
14 – 23 October 2016 @ Foster War Memorial Arts Centre
WINNER Victorian Drama League Judge’s Award
The version of Advance Australia Fair
provided for FAMDA by the South Gippsland Shire Brass Band

Congratulations to our VDL nominees
Tess Deyl – Best Sound Design in a Comedy or Drama
Genevieve Moore – Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy

Congratulations to Lloyd Morcom and Jo Street
nominated for Gippsland Associated Theatre Awards
for their support acting performances in ‘Australia Day’


‘Australia Day’ was first performed in 2012 in a Sydney Theatre Company/Melbourne Theatre Company joint production and has since enjoyed an Australian tour with HIT Productions. Now FAMDA presents the Victorian community theatre première of this hilarious satirical comedy.

A witty look at our nation’s identity, ‘Australia Day’ was written by noted satirist, Jonathan Biggins, who, aside from his television appearances, is much in demand as an actor, director, script writer, columnist, corporate speaker, MC and corporate entertainer. Jonathan admits that some ideas for the play were inspired by his experiences as an Australia Day Ambassador.

Stacked with pithy one liners, ‘Australia Day’ is set in a fictional small country town, where preparations are under way for the annual Australia Day community celebration.
It involves six members of the organising committee as they plan out the program details for the local celebration while arguing over politics, patriotism and progress.

Brian – Chris Pappas
Robert – Luke Dearlove
Maree – Genevieve Moore

Wally – Lloyd Morcom
Helen – Joanne Street
Chester – Trevor Yong

Director, Set & Lighting Design ~ Andrew Oldroyd
Production Manager ~ Jan Bull
Stage Manager  ~ Linley Granger
Sound Design ~ Tess Deyl
Costume Design  ~ Judy Barnard, Anda Banikos
Make-Up Design  ~  Tania Pell
Set Construction ~  Graeme Green & Men’s Shed Crew, Arie Bos, Peter Clyne
Set Painting   ~ Kate Crowl, Arie Bos, Peter Clyne
Stage Crew  ~  Phil Nightingall, Brendan Ryan, David Pollard
Backstage  ~  Dianne Frey
Lighting Operator  ~  Andrew Oldroyd
Sound Operator  ~  Tess Deyl
FOH Managers  ~  Annette Walker, Dianne Paragreen
Venue Box Office  ~   Jennifer Paragreen
Photography  ~  Robert Paragreen, Yianni Banikos  
Publicity, Marketing & Programme ~  Jennifer Paragreen

Poster web 2By arrangement with David Spicer Productions

Judge’s Award – FAMDA  ‘Australia Day’
The version of  ‘Advance Australia Fair’ 

Best Sound Design in a Drama or Comedy ~ Tess Deyl
Best Support Actress in a Comedy ~ Genevieve Moore

Most Outstanding Male Support Actor in a Drama or Comedy
~ Lloyd Morcom
Most Outstanding Female Support Actor in a Drama or Comedy ~ Joanne Street

Comments are closed.